Pre-Trip Reflections #1

My first order of business for my Israel Project is to start the required homework before my trip. I have to read two books, write two essays, complete Jerusalem U class and videos and prep for the biblical sites. I have a lot to do, so I better get started!


 

The Jerusalem U videos have been very educational so far. I was not aware that Israel is a world leader with technology and economic advances. I know that as a leader it is important to educate and prepare for this venture. The more I take this preparation homework seriously, the more I will be able to learn and thrive when I get there! I am feeling very excited about it.

Now let me tell you about Don Finto’s book.

“Your people shall be my people and your God my God.” I have read the story of Ruth more times than I could count. But not once did I ever think about it the way Don Finto presented it. I have a heart for the Jewish people, and this book struck many chords for me. It gave incredible understanding, and every part was backed up by clear verses of truth. I needed to read this, and was blessed with doing so.

I first thought back to my time last summer. When I was growing close to my Jewish friends. My heart would ache when we would discuss faith, and how they didn’t believe in Jesus.  Messianic Jews (Jewish people that follow Christ) are very interesting and amazing to me. I have watched a few documentaries and interviews on them, and I loved reading about that in this book. They are so special! To my knowledge, I have never met a Messianic Jew and I am hoping to this trip! This book has also inspired me to go check out a Messianic Jewish Synagogue near me, when I get home. I think that would be a very eye opening experience.

The way Don Finto spoke about Genesis 12:3 was profoundly impactful on me as well, and it really got me thinking. The verse states, “I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse, and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.” When you look into it, it’s very interesting to look at historical events within the U.S. in coloration with how we have supported or not supported Israel. When I say that, I mean that the times when our nation’s leadership has turned it’s back on Israel, you can notice patterns of bad weather or horrible events occurring right after. But in the other light, you can also look at all of America’s blessings. A lot of times we have been a huge support to Israel, and I can only think after reading this book, that it has some relationships with the verse Genesis 12:3. We are a very prosperous nation compared to a lot of the world. God loves Israel. It is so obvious. Despite everything, from attacks to being conquered and destroyed, Israel still prevails. That is amazing love right there. God loves when others want to bless, protect and stand up for his special land.

I loved the way this book spoke on the prophecies coming true, and happening through ways some people over look. It had me thinking more and more about how our Messiah could come back so soon, even in our lifetime. We must be ready. The prophecies are coming true. More and more Jewish people are coming to know Jesus. The evil in the world is getting worse. Jewish people are moving back to the Promised Land. So incredible, and crazy to think about! I can’t quite wrap my mind around it all. I need to be actively praying for Israel and His people! That is so important, and from this book I was inspired to start boldly praying.

 

 

Leave a Reply

